Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors plays an important role at Bright Starts CELC.  The Board provides representation which ensures that the various points of views of all groups will be considered when policies are established, reviewed or changed, fees and the annual budget are prepared as well as strategic planning for future needs of the centre discussed.  The Board is responsible for working with the Executive Director in the overall operations of the centre, in co‑operation with all Members.  All positions are elected by the General Membership. The Board of Directors consists of at least two-thirds being parents of children in care in the Corporation, and two-thirds being affiliates or spouses of affiliates of the University of Waterloo (faculty, staff, post-doctoral researchers and students). Staff and Members of the corporation may only attend meetings of the Board of Directors by invitation or prior approved request from the Board, meetings occur generally once per month with elections occurring annually. Notice of all meetings will be posted in advance.  Agenda items may be submitted to the President, Secretary or Executive Director at least one week prior to the meeting.

Board committees meet on a causal as needed basis; our committees consist of but are not limited to:

  • Finance
  • Personnel and Policy
  • Health and Safety
  • Nominating
  • Fundraising

Parents who are interested in learning more about this aspect of the Bright Starts CELC, our policies and procedures manual, by-laws and constitution are available upon request from the Executive Director.  We encourage all parents to participate whenever possible.

Board Descriptions

Our 2016/2017 Board of Directors

PRESIDENT – Scott Leatherdale Amina Gilani
VICE PRESIDENT – Jessica Lang Lindsay Ford
PAST PRESIDENT – Kelly Tunney Leanne Varey
TREASURER – Mark Stuart Nadia Martin
SECRETARY – Stacey Acker Mahyar Shafii
Alex Zorzitto
Jennifer Bleakney
Nomair Naeem
Jennifer Tung
Tetyana Reichert

Meeting Minutes


April 2016       July 2016             November 2016

May 2016        August 2016

June 2016      September 2016


January 2017          April 2017         August 2017           November 2017

February 2017        May 2017          September 2017     November 2017 (Budget)

March 2017             June 2017        October 2017


January 2018         April 2018         July 2018

February 2018       May 2018

March 2018           June 2018